top of page

Year-End Reflection

I have been working with Ms. Nazli for one year. I started working with her because my parents thought that I needed some guidance in my writing. However, I took this as an offence. I had always taken great pride in my writing, and I thought that my parents had told me that my writing wasn’t good enough. At the time, I had a fixed mindset in my writing. I didn’t want to learn. Still, after lessons of being reluctant and not paying attention, I finally started to listen to myself as a learner then I realized that Ms. Nazli would help me to be a great writer. I am so thankful that I had time to work with her.


In the past year, I have grown in many topics. Some of the topics include non-fiction writing, poetry, news articles and feature articles. Out of these genres, my favourite was non-fiction. After reflecting, this came as a surprise to me. Furthermore, in school I have always despised non-fiction, I never liked it since, in school, we had to write these articles in a specific way. How we had to write it in was just facts on a paper.


However, when I began working with Ms. Nazli, I didn’t have to write that way. She would supervise and support my writing, Ms. Nazli never told me that the spark and style of my writing weren’t good. Yet, if there was a mistake in my writing she would teach me how not to write in that way. With Ms. Nazli, there were no mistakes, just teachable moments.


My Goal for next year is to continue to work on my blog


bottom of page